Posted on

Nine Colours (Navrang) of Navratri

Colours in Navratri play a very important role. Colours have power that goes beyond their aesthetic implications. Indian mysticism has always had a deep connection with colours.


Every year, during Navratri, we welcome ‘Goddess Durga’ as our protector. The preparations begin months in advance. During Navratri, we worship Maa Durga in all her incarnations   Shailaputri, Bramhacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Kaalratri, Katyayani, Mahagauri and Siddhidharti.

Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Colours in Navratri, like everything else in India, play a very important role. Colours have power that goes beyond their aesthetic implications. That they have an impact on people has been subject of several studies in psychology and other disciplines. Indian mysticism has always had a deep connection with colours. During Navratri, we put on outfits of specific colours on specific days to feel the power, presence and energy of “Ma”. While outwardly it just elevates us to a festive mood, it is believed that these specific colours have deeper significance, symbolic as well as spiritual and mystical. The festival and its colours help us awaken our chakras so that we rise to being better ourselves.  

Let’s understand the significance of colours for this nine day festival and worship Goddess Durga while we seek her blessings so that we all get the  courage, knowledge and good sense to prosper and shine.

GREY: The day one of the festival begins with Grey colour which stands for strength of transforming. Day one is the day to worship Goddess Mata Shailputri (daughter of the mountains). She is the absolute form of Mother Nature.

ORANGE: On the second day, we worship Goddess Bramhacharini as the colour symbolises tranquillity, brightness and knowledge.

WHITE: Third day is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta and she is beloved to reward people with her grace, bravery and courage.

RED: Fourth day, we worship Goddess Kushmanda as she is credited by creating the world with her divine smile.

ROYAL BLUE: The fifth form of Goddess Durga is Skandmata and it is believed that she awards devotees with salvation, power, prosperity and treasures.

YELLOW: Sixth day, we worship one of the main forms of Navdurga, i.e., Goddess Katyayani who is the slayer of demon Mahishasura.

GREEN: The seventh day of Navratri Puja is specifically dedicated to Goddess Kaalratri who is considered to be the fiercest form of Goddess Durga. This form is believed to be the destroyer of all demon entities and negative energies.

PEACOCK GREEN: On the eighth day, Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped, who, according to Hindu Mythology, has the power to fulfil all the desired of her devotees.

PURPLE: The ninth day of Navratri is dedicated o Goddess Siddhidharti and it is believed that worshipping her can bring happiness, good health and prosperity.

Posted on

Navratri – The Festival of Nine Nights

Indian culture is replete with joyous festivities, celebrations and rituals. While our cultural contours define our identity as Indians, at a deeper level they also point to the philosophical, theological and spiritual opulence of our mystic land.   

Goddess Durga

Navratri which means festivals of nine nights is a nine day festival that’s celebrated across India and the world over by Hindus. The festival is marked by worship of Goddess Durga, performance of folks like Garba, arcane rituals including fasting and not to mention traditional delicacies.

Photo by Sonika Agarwal on Unsplash

In North India, Navaratri is celebrated as the victory of Rama over evil Ravana. It is ceremoniously  depicted through the story of Lord Rama during Dussehra through plays and the effigies of Ravana and Kumbhakaran are burnt to acknowledge the victory of good over evil on ‘Vijaya Dashami”. Goddess Durga, a form of Goddess Parvati is worshipped for nine days for her divine blessings and guidance.

In Western India, Navaratri is mainly associated with Garba and Dandiya-raas. Garba is a dance that honours and worships the feminine form of divinity. The dance is performed in a circle with a light inside, called the Garbha deep and traditionally they play Garba every single night for nine days.

In Eastern India, Navaratri is celebrated as “Durga Puja’. Life-size clay model of the Goddess is decorated in pandals and worshipped for nine days. The auspicious eighth day is traditionally known as Durgashtami where devotees tend to observe fast and worship ‘Maa’, who symbolizes strength.

Photo by Sukanya Basu on Unsplash

In Southern part of India, people celebrate Navaratri with elaborate rituals and customs. They devote the nine days of puja to goddess Lakshmi, Durga and Saraswati. Here, this is the time to invite friends, neighbours, relatives to celebrate the festival, “Golu”, displaying dolls and figurines at each step and placing the decorated kalash on the top.

Goddess durga was incarnated by Lord Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva to fight the evil Mahishasura. Durga, the symbol of Shakti is the strength which keeps our inner self well built to fight against any negative power and amicable at the same time to sustain integrity.

People pray the divine feminine for nine days in different avatars which signifies power, strength, bravery, knowledge, beauty, grace and auspiciousness. One popular ritual during Navaratri is ‘Kanya Puja’ which takes place on eighth or ninth day. Here, nine girls are dressed as nine goddesses and are worshipped and offered food and clothes. This ritual believes in the universal creative forces to be females and also that on the ninth day of Navaratri that Shakti had taken the form of Goddess Durga to kill the demon.

Navaratri teaches us not only to celebrate and bond with each other, but also to have faith in goodness and age old principles to be true and faithful. The goddess of Shakti is also the power within, which enforces us to protect the warmth and kindness of this sphere.